SMB the 2nd Team in PBA History to Win the Prestigious Award of “Jun Bernardino Trophy”

PBA – The recent championship of the San Miguel Beermen last Sunday, March 5, 2017 against the Barangay Ginebra Kings which clearly dominated by the barman that ended in just 5 games of the PBA Philippine Cup Finals is not like an ordinary championship but rather one of the most important championship in PBA History.

The PBA Philippine Cup is the most prestigious award of all championship among the three conferences in PBA Season at the same time Philippine Cup is the only conference where there are no imports or foreign player recruited in each team compared to two other Conferences the Commissioners Cup and the Governor’s Cup which has imports.

Winning the PBA Philippine Cup Championship in three consecutive season will be crown of the prestigious award of “Jun Bernardino Trophy” which previously known as the "Perpetual Trophy" and that’s what the San Miguel Beermen does last Sunday when they Defeated the Kings in Game 5, of their Best of seven series. The Beermen wrapped the series 4 – 1, winning Game 1, 3, 4 and 5.

Aside from the Beermen’s accomplishments by winning three consecutive Philippine Cup Title, 2014–15 Philippine Cup, 2015–16 Philippine Cup and the recent 2016–17 Philippine Cup Title, Talk 'N Text Tropang Texters is the very first team to win the prestigious award in 2006 where at that time it is called as “Perpetual Trophy”.

Talk 'N Text Tropang Texters, won in 2010–11 Philippine Cup, 2011–12 Philippine Cup and 2012–13 Philippine Cup Title.

The Jun Bernardino Trophy is a tribute from the former commissioner of the Philippine Basketball Association, PBA who died of a heart attack in March of 2007.