Pope Francis Greeted By A Warm Welcome In The Philippines

Pope Francis is welcome by the Filipinos with warm welcome and accompanied by a strong winds yesterday afternoon, Thursday night at the Manila, Philippines

Pope Francis airplane Arrived at the Villamor Air Base in Pasay City at 5:32 pm from Sri Lanka 1,500 young students waited for the arrival of the Pope.

Archbishop Giuseppe Pinto , apostolic nuncio , the first person to board the plane to guide the Pope from un-boarding the Plane. Upon exiting the plane Pope Francis papal cap is blown away by a strong gust of wind.

Down the stairs of the plane the Pope met with President Benigno Aquino III , and some members of the Cabinet and representatives of the Catholic Church .

It said that the following protocol or policy prepared to meet with Pope Francis is been followed.

The proper greeting to Pope Francis on Thursday was far beyond from the first arrival of Pope John Paul VI in 1970. Which happen in 1970 during his visit in 1970.

After thePresident Aquino great the Pope, the children who are Lanie Ortill, 9 -year-old Mark Angelo Balbero , 10 years old , handed the bundle of flowers to Pope Francis .

Balbero and Ortillo lost their parents because of the disaster that occurred in the country.

The Aquino Cabinet who greet the Pope are as follow:

1. Vice President Jejomar C. Binay
2. Executive Secretary Paquito N. Ochoa
3. Foreign Affairs Secretary Albert F. Del Rosario
4. Finance Secretary Cesar V. Purisima
5. Justice Leila De Lima
6. Public Works Secretary Rogelio L. Singson
7. Education Secretary Armin A. Luistro
8. Defense Secretary Voltaire T. Gazmin
9. Interior Secretary Manuel A. Roxas II
10. Transportation Secretary Joseph Emilio A. Abaya
11. Budget Secretary Florencio B. Abad
12. Socio-Economic Planning Secretary Arsenio M. Balisacan

Also the representatives of the Catholic Church are:

1. O.M.I., Archbishop of Cotabato: Rev. Orlando B. Cardinal Quevedo
2. S.J Archbishop of Cagayan de Oro: Rev. Antonio J. Ledesma
3. Archbishop of Davao: Rev. Romulo G. Valles,
4. S.S.S, Bishop of Cabanatuan: Rev. Sofronio A. Bancud
5. Bishop of San Fernando De La Union: Rev. Rodolfo F. Beltran
6. Bishop of Malaybalay Rev. Jose A. Cabantan
7. Prelate of Infanta:  Rev. Bernardino C. Cortez
8. Bishop of  Daet:  Rev. Gilbert A. Garcera,
9. O.M. . Vicar Apostolic Of  Jolo: Rev. Angelito R. Lampon,
10. Bishop of  Lucena: Rev Emilio Z. Marquez,
11. Rev. Jesse E. Mercado
12. Secretary General of the Catholic Bishops Conference of the Philippines: Rev. Fr. Marvin S. Mejia

On Friday morning , January 16, Pope Francis scheduled to go to Malacañang to pay a courtesy call to President Aquino. Followed by a Mass at the Manila Cathedral in Intramuros, and gathering with selected families at the Mall of Asia .
source: GMA